Font Size

Energy Committee

In August of 2021, the Board of Selectmen voted to revive the Sandwich Energy Committee. The Energy Committee is charged with promoting energy conservation and the use of renewable resources for municipal, business and homes by the townspeople of Sandwich. The Committee will function as an Advisory Committee to the Board of Selectmen.

At the March, 2020 Sandwich Town Meeting, residents voted to commit:

“to a goal of 100% reliance on renewable sources of electricity by 2030 and for all other energy needs, including heating and transportation, by 2050. The intent of this goal is to protect the well-being and health of our citizens by practicing and promoting energy conservation, ensuring food, water and heat security, by being fiscally responsible and by keeping energy dollars in the local economy. We can, by actively shifting towards renewable energy, end dependence on subsidies for fossil fuels and address the threat of global climate change on a local, state and national level. This article reaffirms Warrant Article 53, passed at the March 13, 2007 Sandwich Town Hall Meeting.”

Town of Sandwich Energy Goals:

2030: 100% reliance on renewable sources for electricity
2050: 100% reliance on renewable sources for all other energy needs, including heating and transportation.

Energy Committee gmail:
Meetings: second Tuesday of the month at 6:30 pm at Town Hall

Energy Committee Members:

  • Lucy Bartley
  • Alexander "Tod" Campbell
  • Adam Heard, Selectman
  • Derek Meredith
  • Tim Miner, Co-Chair
  • Wharton Sinkler, Secretary
  • Katherine Thorndike, Chair